Carnegie Mellon University

About

The Claire and John Bertucci Nanotechnology Laboratory is a premier research facility in Western Pennsylvania and the “Tech-Belt” (PA-OH-WV) region. Located in Carnegie Mellon University’s Sherman and Joyce Bowie Scott Hall, the "Nanofab" houses more than 100 processing and characterization tools maintained by highly qualified technical staff members and is responsible for more than $10M/year in cutting-edge research.

Eden Hall Foundation Cleanroom

The 14,000 sqft. Claire and John Bertucci Nanotechnology Laboratory houses the 8.500 sqft. Class 10/100 Eden Hall Foundation Cleanroom. Characterized as one of the most energy efficient cleanrooms in the United States, the nanotechnology lab as a whole has helped the Sherman and Joyce Bowie Scott Hall building earn the distinction of being certified LEED Gold. Furthermore, the lab features state-of-the-art controls, 19 brand new wet chemistry decks, 3 EMI-shielded rooms, and many other advancements designed to support a continuously growing and diversified set of users.

People

The Nanofabrication Facility staff coordinates all activity within the labs. They are responsible for machine design and construction, maintenance, lab administration, safety protocols and personnel training. 

piazza-gianluca-400x400.png

Gianluca Piazza

Faculty Director 
Location: 333 Roberts Engineering Hall
Email: piazza@ece.cmu.edu
Office tele: (412) 268-7762
Fax: (412) 268-9687

matt-moneck-400x400.png

Matthew Moneck

Executive Manager
Location: Scott Hall, 4S407
Email: mmoneck@andrew.cmu.edu
Office tele: (412) 268-5430
Lab tele: (412) 268-3388

weiler-mark-400x400.png

Mark Weiler

Equipment Manager
Location: Scott Hall, 4S403
Email: mweiler@andrew.cmu.edu
Office tele: (412) 268-2471
Lab tele: (412) 268-3388

gottron-norman-400x400.png

Norman Gottron

Process Engineer
Location: Hamerschlag Hall, F-206
Email: ngottron@andrew.cmu.edu
Office tele: (412) 268-4205
Lab tele: (412) 268-3388

risley-mason-400x400.jpg

Mason Risley

Process Engineer
Email: mrisley@andrew.cmu.edu
Office tele:  412-268-5419
Lab tele: (412) 268-3388


 

rosvanis-james-400x400.png

James Rosvanis

Technician
Location: Scott Hall, 4S403
Email: rosvanis@andrew.cmu.edu
Office tele: (412) 268-7008
Lab tele: (412) 268-3388

dante-boni

Dante Boni

Technician
Location: Scott Hall, 4S403
Email: dboni@andrew.cmu.edu
Office tele: (412) 268-2234
Lab tele: (412) 268-3388

Photos

Photos of the facility are available via our Flickr set.